Stressed out Mom over here!

IMG_2793IMG_2780IMG_2805.JPG

This week’s craziness…

So Mason was sick this past week, it was rough. He started off with just a cold. It was a weak cold that lasted a few days and then it got worse. Ty and I brought him to get checked and yes it was the common viral infection that was going around. Mason doesn’t get sick too often but when he does, he does! The doctors wanted to see how the next couple days went before giving him any medication which I agree with. I don’t like how hard some of those antibiotics are on their tiny stomachs. So I totally agreed and wanted to wait before giving him meds. I took the Monday off work to be with him and just see how he is doing, I obviously didn’t want to let it get worse. A couple of days passed and back to the doctors we were. He started tugging at his ear and saying it was hurting and I knew right there and then he had an ear infection… Great! Those are the worst. Now he was on ear drops (by the way it’s hard to give a toddler ear drops, he wasn’t a fan) we were told he should be better within 48 hours, or at least we should notice a difference. Nope… It actually got worse. He started bleeding from his ear :( My poor little man at this point was having a horrible week. He had fevers on and off. He was in pain from his ear and constantly screaming. He hadn’t slept in days, cause he kept waking up. We tried to comfort him and hold him which would work for a bit then he would get another pain and we just couldn’t do anything. It really is a horrible feeling. ( I think I must have cried like 5 times this week. ) Watching him be sick and in pain was the absolute hardest for me. I was so emotional all week with him. I know I was so tired from no sleep and I worked a bit too this week. I think overall I was just tired. But yes I was emotional and a bit of a wreck. I had a hard time not being able to help him, or fix him. I am used to being able to fix his problems or stop his cry when something is wrong. I am used to helping him through his mood swings and having a good end result. But sadly he would just scream and scream and then he would cry my name out if he was away from me. Anywho what I am saying is it was hard, and broke my heart and I was tired. I will say that we did find things that helped sooth him at certain times. Jenna mentioned the diffuser from Young Living Essential Oils. I just recently got one too. I really love it a lot. Mason had such a hard time sleeping at night but we diffused the lavender oil before we would bring him into his room. Then as soon as we entered he almost went into this calm trance and would usually go down really well. I also would rub my Arbonne Gelee on his back and chest. It helped sooth all his soreness from coughing. We took lots of nice warm baths, he really liked those too. Overall it just soothed him and somewhat helped in some of the difficult moments.

Back to what I was saying though, we took him back to the doctors immediately when we noticed the blood, luckily he is all good. It’s got to do with the pressure on his membrane in his ear or something and it can tear which can cause fluids to leak. Mase is now on antibiotics for a bit for the infection and so he started to act a bit more normal yesterday, thank goodness.

Ty took him to his parents for dinner last night and I got to sit back and chill ALONE and in SILENCE. Thank you Tyler xoxoxo. I really just needed some ME time after the week. I feel like such a complainer but whatever, I had a hard time. I also didn’t add in that I got sick too with his cold. I’m not complaining about the cold, seriously! I didn’t care how I was feeling, just him. Anywho I watched the Mindy Project last night, and drank wine. Oh and my dinner was Kraft Dinner ( I ate the whole box ). I know it’s so bad for me, but seriously it was sunday and Kraft Dinner is soooo delicious. But Yes Mindy Project is my favourite show right now I may or may have not finished seasons 1 this weekend.

Oh Hey I forgot to tell Everyone!!!!! Had an Awesome Moment with Mason this weekend! He POOED in the Toilet:):):):) For other parents out there you can understand how flipping exciting that is. We’ve been trying to get him on that darn toilet for so long. He was so proud of himself too. That was the highlight of the weekend!!!!!!!

Writing that out makes me laugh so hard. My kid took a poop in the toilet. That was the highlight of my weekend. oh boy :| ( wish you could all hear the tone of voice I have ) I think I need to go out soon.

So anyways it’s been about a week of Mason feeling so crummy. Today he is acting pretty normal. I’m really happy to see him smiling and playing with his toys. If it wasn’t so darn windy outside I’d take him outside but I’m scared that’ll bother his healing ear. We baked cookies this morning and he decided to take a few bites out of the cookie dough ( Yes Jenna, they are gluten-free cookies ). So ya he was taking bites when I would turn away. Then I’m pretty sure he sneezed on half the cookies if not all of them…. So if you come over at some point soon and I offer you a chocolate chip cookie just say NO, I’ll forget that they are contaminated.

Adios Friends, thanks for reading as always:) Your support is always appreciated!

– Till my next adventure –

Kate

2 thoughts on “Stressed out Mom over here!

Leave a Reply

